Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is made up of five elected representatives, a staff representative and the principal. Elected representatives are usually parents or whanau of children at the school. At times, the Board may appoint additional representatives to ensure there is a sufficient range of skills and perspectives on the Board.

Board members are community representatives with a governance role and through discussing and approving the school strategic plan and budget and managing school policies, we have a say in the type of school our kids attend, and the types of learning experiences that they have. Responsibility for school management and classroom programmes is delegated to the principal and school staff.  

Current board members are listed below, and can be contacted any time. Please contact the office if you would like to get in touch with the Board. 

  • Robin Fepuleai - Presiding Member (Chairperson)
  • Davin Hall
  • Leah Mataira
  • Soha Ahmed
  • Muhammad Azam
  • Anna Allen
  • Tony Austin - Principal
  • Peter Dobson - Staff representative

The Education Act (2020) provides that a board's primary objectives are to ensure that:

  1. Every student at the school is able to attain their highest possible standard in education achievement; and
  2. The school:
    a. is a physically and emotionally safe place for all students and staff;
    b. gives effect to relevant student rights; and
    c. takes all reasonable steps to eliminate racism, stigma, bullying, and any other forms of discrimination within the school
  3. The school is inclusive of, and caters for, students with differing needs; and
  4. The school gives effect to Te Tiriti o Waitangi including by:
    a. working to ensure its plans, policies and local curriculum reflect local tikanga Māori, mātauranga Māori and te ao Māori,
    b. taking all reasonable steps to make instruction available in tikanga Māori and te reo Māori,
    c. achieving equitable outcomes for Māori students.

To ensure that we reflect the views of the community we undertake a survey of the school community in term 4 each year. This is an important way of getting a wide range of views on current topics.

The Board meets twice a term. Members of the community are welcome to attend and observe the meetings, though they are meetings held in public (rather than public meetings). The agenda is set in advance by the presiding member in consultation with the Principal and follows the format below:

  1. Opening of meeting including welcome and karakia
  2. Reporting against strategic and annual plan (including student achievement data and staff professional development)
  3. Self-review (including policies)
  4. Principal’s report (including cashflow, health and safety, property and staffing)
  5. Community reports (Parentlink, Whanau Group, KASC)
  6. Administration

Meeting minutes are prepared following each meeting and are kept at school and available on request.